Bracketology: February 20, 2020 Edition

Who’s in?  Who’s out?  Who moved up and down?

The beauty of bracketology is that there are different ways of trying to determine how the NCAA Tournament Committee makes their selections.  This means that when the brackets are filled, it is a fresh seeding each time.  So that’s what happened here and after the games thus far, there have been shifts.

Some notable changes:

  • Arizona State is now IN, but they were given an extremely disadvantageous location despite having a “bye”.
  • Richmond is going to Dayton, the NCAA Tournament Committee likes sending teams that may not necessarily have the best strength of schedule to UD Arena.  Richmond has performed well, but their strength of schedule is not impressive.
  • Auburn tumbles down to a #9 seed, losing at Georgia and Missouri should result in negative consequences.
  • Kentucky moves up to a #6 seed, but they get a worse location.
  • Colorado moves up to a #3 seed.
  • North Carolina State beating Duke knocked Duke off the #1 seed line and put the Wolfpack into a game with Cincinnati in Dayton.
  • Indiana is OUT, they will have opportunities to get back into the field.  They are the first team out.
  • Stanford is OUT, they will have opportunities to get back into the field.
  • Wisconsin moves up to a #7 seed and Purdue is Dayton bound.


Conference Conference
SOUTH – Houston MIDWEST – Indianapolis
St. Louis St. Louis
1) Baylor Big XII 1) Kansas Big XII
16) Prairie View A&M/Norfolk St. SWAC/MEAC 16) Montana Big Sky
8) Illinois Big Ten 8) Rutgers Big Ten
9) LSU SEC 9) Xavier Big East
Tampa Tampa
5) Texas Tech Big XII 5) Houston American
12) ETSU SoCon 12) Yale Ivy
4) Florida St. ACC 4) Seton Hall Big East
13) Stephen F. Austin Southland 13) Akron MAC
Albany Omaha
6) Oregon Pac-12 6) Kentucky SEC
11) Purdue/Richmond Big Ten/A-10 11) Arizona St. Pac-12
3) Creighton Big East 3) Louisville ACC
14) Hofstra CAA 14) Wright St. Horizon
Greensboro Cleveland
7) Marquette Big East 7) Iowa Big Ten
10) Wichita St. American 10) Northern Iowa MVC
2) Maryland Big Ten 2) Dayton A-10
15) Little Rock Sun Belt 15) Colgate Patriot
EAST – New York WEST – Los Angeles
Spokane Sacramento
1) Gonzaga WCC 1) San Diego St. MWC
16) Robert Morris/St. Peter’s NEC/MAAC 16) Winthrop Big South
8) Florida SEC 8) Saint Mary’s WCC
9) Rhode Island A-10 9) Auburn SEC
Albany Spokane
5) Ohio St. Big Ten 5) BYU WCC
12) Cincinnati/NC State American/ACC 12) Liberty Atlantic Sun
4) Villanova Big East 4) Penn St. Big Ten
13) Vermont America East 13) North Texas C-USA
Omaha Sacramento
6) Michigan St. Big Ten 6) Butler Big East
11) Virginia ACC 11) Utah St. MWC
3) Colorado Pac-12 3) Arizona Pac-12
14) South Dakota St. Summit 14) New Mexico St. WAC
Greensboro Cleveland
7) Wisconsin Big Ten 7) Michigan Big Ten
10) Oklahoma Big XII 10) USC Pac-12
2) Duke ACC 2) West Virginia Big XII
15) Austin Peay OVC 15) UC Irvine Big West

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *